Charter Standard Update

The FA Charter Standard programme is a kitemark which recognises and rewards high quality levels of provision in club and league football. The FA Char

The aim of this programme is to raise standards in grassroots football, support the development of clubs and leagues, recognising and rewarding them for their commitment and achievements.

For clubs and leagues to receive ‘The FA Charter Standard’ accreditation they need to be well-run and sustainable. With this in mind, prioritisation of child protection, quality coaching and implementation of the Respect programme is also needed for the accreditation.

The FA Charter Standard Club Programme has three levels:

Below is the criteria needed to achieve the accreditation for FA Charter Standard

FA Charter Standard Club (Youth)

Criteria include:

  • One youth module 1 Coach for every four teams: e.g. 1-4 teams = One Youth Mod 1 coach or 5-8 teams = Two Youth Mod 1 coaches
  • 50 per cent of all coaches to be FA Licensed Coaches Club members
  • Minimum of 90 per cent of all coaches to be FA Licensed Coaches Club members
  • An FA Level 1 coach for each youth team (U18 and below) 
  • Code of conduct for players, coaches, parents, officials & regular briefings
  • Criminal Record Checks (CRC) for all volunteers involved in youth football teams
  • FA Emergency Aid-trained volunteers linked to each team
  • Club constitution and rules
  • Copy of annual accounts
  • Safeguarding children policy (youth only)
  • Public Liability & Personal Accident Insurance
  • Having an FA-trained Club Welfare Officer
  • Sign-up to and deliver The FA’s Respect programme
  • Appropriate administration governance in place – in relation to the club’s size
  • An FA Charter Standard Co-ordinator recruited for each club

FA Charter Standard Development Club

  • At least one coach to hold level 2 Certificate in Coaching football qualification 
  • At least one coach who has attended the FA Youth Award Module 1, coaching one of the teams
  • One Youth Mod 2 coach for every 6 teams e.g. 1-6 teams = one Youth Mod 2 coach; 6-12 teams = two Youth Mod 2 coaches  
  • A minimum of five teams covering at least four different age groups
  • A Football Development Plan for three to five years

FA Charter Standard Community Club

  • Two level 2 coaches in the club
  • One FA Youth Award coach (Mod 3 assessed) per club
  • At least one coach who has attended the FA Youth Module 2 coaching one of the teams
  • One person who has attended the FA Mentoring Adults course
  • 5year football development plan
  • A designated school co-ordinator
  • A minimum of ten teams covering mini-soccer, youth and adult football
  • Has a minimum of one male and female team

FA Charter Standard Club (Adult)

  • Non National League System teams; Three hour workshop an annual optional offer, not mandatory
  • National League System (Step 7 and above) adult teams; 6 hour (one day) annual workshop (league organised)
  • To be formerly constituted.
  • Require a set of recent Committee meeting minutes.
  • Have at least one team playing in an FA-sanctioned league
  • Have a bank account in the club’s name
  • Provide a balance sheet and profit and loss account
  • Have Club equality Policy
  • Link to a feeder club for players
  • A good disciplinary record
  • A first aider with every team

Some of the benefits of becoming an FA Charter Standard Club are that you gain access to the McDonald’s FA Charter Standard Kit Scheme to receive one free Nike team kit each season. Clubs and leagues may also be able to receive funding towards official FA Nike match balls, and can be given invitations to local in-service events.

Other benefits would be that you are demonstrating to all members, parents, sponsors and the public, that you are a well-organised, safe club offering opportunities for all.

For any added information or questions contact Dean Watson - County Development Manager via email: or telephone: 01480 447483

Related News

View All