The FA Coach Mentor Programme

FA Coach Mentor Programme

Offering on-the-ground support.

The FA Coach Mentor Programme is an investment in grassroots coaching, offering on the ground support within FA Charter Standard Clubs.

The programme provides a process whereby a coach is actively engaged in being guided towards acquiring new knowledge, feedback, ideas or advice by a trained mentor. The aim is to supporting a coaching workforce in their own environment, both in training and in match-day situations.

The intentions of the FA Coach Mentoring Programme are to:

  • Improve coaching in grass-roots football
  • Up-skill and support coaches to develop knowledge, confidence and skills
  • Bring the Future Game to life in grass-roots clubsImprove match-day behaviours
  • Retain coaches in the game
  • Support individual learning
  • Cascade the model/network of mentors and leave a Sustainable legacy
  • Retain players in the game through better coaching practice
female coaches talking
The FA coach mentor programme Video
Find out more 
BS
I have been supported by Martyn Neale, who has been very helpful and approachable - he has listened to our needs/views and has been able to give us feedback on sessions, ideas for developing sessions, suggestions for philosophy and has taken a session for us. I think importantly he has made me as a coach be more refelctive on my own practice and willing to try new ideas. I would well-recommend both Martyn and the Mentor Programme - he has been excellent. 
- Mark Rix - Brampton Spartans FC
FAQs

We have three mentors working in the County:

John Schwier - Email: John.Schwier@TheFA.com

Mike Joyce - Email: Mike.Joyce@TheFA.com

Darren Marjoram - for people working in the Girls and Women's Football. Darren.Marjoram@TheFA.com

FA Charter Standard Clubs over the duration of a season have access to their assigned FA Mentor. Consultation between the club and the mentor decide on where and how the support looks in any of the areas below.

No. The FA Coach Mentor programme is a free FA initiative where a Coach Mentor can offer up to 100 hours of support per season.

Clubs that are keen to develop a positive coaching ethos, philosophy and develop their own in-house mentoring/coach support system.

Coaches can utilise this opportunity to start a legacy of positive coaching within their own clubs.

The FA Coach Mentor Programme is also committed to providing 5000 hours per season specifically to work with BAME, female and disabled coaches across the country.

If you are a BAME coach or working with BAME coaches/players and would like some support from one of our Coach Mentors, please contact Steve Smithies with your name, club name, age group and the County FA that you are affiliated to – steve.smithies@thefa.com.

If you are a female coach or working with female coaches/players and would like some support from one of our Coach Mentors, please contact Samantha Griffiths with your name, club name, age group and the County FA that you are affiliated to – samantha.griffiths@thefa.com

If you are a coach with a disability and would like some support from one of our Coach Mentors, please contact Kevin England with your name, club name, age group and the County FA that you are affiliated to kevin.england@thefa.com.

If you are interested in becoming an FA Coach Mentor please check our website for vacancies. If no vacancies are available contact the Regional Coach Mentor Officer in your region who can provide an update of the programme in and around your area.

Please note that there two application periods throughout the season - June and December.

Pre-requisites to become an FA Coach Mentor are:

  • Minimum FA Level 2 in Coaching Football
  • Member of The FA Licensed Coaches Club
  • Valid FA Criminal Record Check

North West – Steve Smithies – steve.smithies@thefa.com

North East – Graeme Carrick – graeme.carrick@thefa.com

East Midlands – Samantha Griffiths – samantha.griffiths@thefa.com

West Midlands – Andy Somers – andy.somers@thefa.com

East – Darren Moss – darren.moss@thefa.com

South East – Kevin England – kevin.england@thefa.com

London/ Armed Forces/ Jersey/ Guernsey – Kevin Green – kevin.green@thefa.com

South West – Ciara Allan – ciara.allan@thefa.com

Get In Touch

Tor receive support from The FA Coach Mentor programme, please contact Andy Coles, Football Development Officer via 01480 447486 or Andy.Coles@HuntsFA.com

When making initial contact please include your name, club name, number of teams and County FA affiliated to.

The FA Coaching Bursary

An inclusive initiative designed to support more coaches from under-represented communities with a financial contribution to progress on their coaching pathways

click here
The FA Coaching Bursary

Related Articles

View All